19
Nov
09

Pipemaking 200 – staining and finishing

Well folks, here it is. Tom hooked me up with some stain, and I gave it a go after finding the perfect little something in a toolbox to prop up the briar for staining. It got really dark at first and I must say its hard as hell to get the stain on there evenly. After some sanding it’s looking fairly decent.

In the end, I learned a lot in this experience, and am pretty content with the end result. I’m a perfectionist by nature, so obviously I wish it was better, but given no experience in woodworking, I don’t think I did half bad. Let me know what you think. BTW I’m lighting it up for the first time tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Pipemaking 200 – staining and finishing”


  1. November 19, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    looks awesome! well done. what tobacco do you think you’ll smoke in it first?

  2. 3 Phil
    November 20, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Amazing job, hard to believe it’s your first attempt

  3. 4 badhk51
    November 22, 2009 at 11:41 am

    The pipe looks very nice! Volcano is my favorite of all shapes. It was nice meeting you at ASW. I have been wanting to make my own pipe for some time now. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Mark


Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Twitter


