11
Oct
09

Yesterday’s meetup was the best yet

Pittsburgh Pipe Club is growing, as was witnessed yesterday at our monthly meetup. I believe I counted around 15 people in attendance, and we even had overflow out of the lounge into the other areas of the shop. John Seiler brought along a group of Castello 65’s to show, and Homer brought along a large collection of wares he obtained at the Richmond pipe show. Gary brought along his new Comoy’s Christmas Pipe he got on ebay for a steal, and I brought the newest additions to my collection – the Le Nuvole Barilotto and my big Boswell. Tom showed up again with his amazing craftwork, including his first ever Hawkbill which went to John. Be sure to check out John’s Leopaldo Saga on his personal site for some excellent pipe fiction.

Mike from Allegheny Smokeworks graciously gave us a tin of Peterson 3 P’s to sample, and I got to put my new “herb” grinder to use for breaking up a slice of the plug. I feel as though I can finally start enjoying some flake tobaccos in proper fashion due to the addition of the grinder, so I purchased a tin of Fribourg & Treyer Cut Blended Plug, as recommend by Bill Unger.

We had some new folks show up, experienced and new pipe smokers, including another Shawn. It’s great to see the club growing, and I’m hoping word can spread even more via new members and via the web. We’re outgrowing our meetup space, but that’s not really a bad problem to have. I’m already looking forward to next month, but I’m just hoping I’ll be in town since I may have to do a bunch of travel coming up for work…

3 Responses to “Yesterday’s meetup was the best yet”


  1. 1 seilerjp
    October 11, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    As a long time pipe smoker (42 years) and pipe collector, I thoroughly enjoyed my 3rd meeting of the PPC. I am very encouraged seeing so many people taking up pipe smoking. If I can help anyone, please let me know. My website is http://mysite.verizon.net . My e-mail is seilerjp@verizon.net

  2. 2 Shawn
    October 11, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks again for stopping by along with the rest of the crew. Your mentorship is highly appreciated, and thank you for the archives of information. I’ve got to make it to one of your meetups sometime when I’m not being shipped off by work.

  3. 3 garydh2000
    October 12, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Ditto to Shawn’s comments about John and Co. I really feel honored to have you guys with us and sharing your many years of pipe and tobacco experience!

    Gary


Leave a Reply

Calendar

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Twitter


