22
Sep
09

Pipemaking 103

Tonight was a breakthrough night for the pipe. I realized there was a flaw in my initial design and cuts for the bottom portion of the pipe. I didn’t cut enough wood off to allow the stem to continue into the shank and flow all the way to the bottom of the bowl, as a volcano should. I put a fair amount of time into re-sanding the bottom, and although it’s not complete, it now is starting to feel less like a block of wood and more like a pipe in my hand. I also continued the shaping of the bowl itself and the shank. I’m also including a photo of the pipe with the stem attached, but keep in mind I plan on heating and bending the stem a bit so that it’s not so much of a curve.

IMG_1252

IMG_1254

IMG_1255

0 Responses to “Pipemaking 103”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Twitter


