21
Sep
09

Pipemaking 101

So, after my trip to Boswell in Chambersburg, I was inspired to hold off no longer for beginning work on crafting my first pipe. I purchased a pre-bored briar kit recently from PIMO, but was holding off on beginning work until I could put together a motor driven 6″ disc sander for shaping. I’d still like one of those, but kicked off work last night on my completely hand crafted pipe.

I first measured things up and created my design, photocopied it to preserve the original, and traced the design onto the block. I then measured out and marked the shaping cuts, and went to town with a coping saw for a good period of time. Yes, briar is HARD, and it is hard work to make the cuts by hand. It took me a good long while, but it’s starting to look somewhat pipe-like, and the rough hand sanding with 80 grit paper has begun. I also have a rasp but, find that even harder to work with for the shaping. The plan is for this to be a volcano someday. Here’s some shots of my workshop and progress:

1 Response to “Pipemaking 101”


  1. September 28, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Great looking pipe. Have you gone any further?


Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Twitter


