08
Sep
09

Seconds and such

Since I spend a fair amount of time ebaying for magical deals on pipes, I’m starting to learn more and more about the sought after high quality brands and their sub-brands/seconds. I just signed up for an account on pipedia so help fill out some of the pages of the big name brands with information regarding their sub-brands, since that information is fairly scattered. It seems as though some of the best deals out there on ebay are for sub-brands that people don’t associate with their well known counterpart.

I’m currently bidding on some Mountbatten’s, which is a sub-brand of charatan, and from my research they don’t appear to be “seconds”. Supposedly the Mountbatten’s weren’t flawed, as is the case with most seconds, but they were actually made by pipe carvers “in training” for the Charatan factory itself. They’re great looking pipes, and hopefully I’ll snag one.

In addition to that, while looking for a Comoy’s to add to my collection, I believe I’ve found the manufacturer of my Milwaukeans 589. It is spot on for a Comoy’s seen here, and even the shape of the marking, and the numerical stamping font matches up. I had thought it to be a Uhle’s, which is a shop in Milwaukee, but I contacted them a while back and their pipes weren’t made in England, but there may have been another Uhle’s out there that was a Comoy’s sub-brand…

0 Responses to “Seconds and such”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


