06
Jul
09

Denicool crystals

Back in the infancy of my pipe smoking, one of my first purchases along with my starter pipe was a box of Denicool filter crystals. They came recommended by Continental Smoke Shop in Squirrel Hill, but for some reason, they seemed odd to me and just simply unnecessary. Fast forward many months and many soggy bowls of tobacco, and I decided to try them again.

For those who don’t know, Denicool crystals are made of silica, and are placed at the bottom of your pipe bowl prior to filling with your tobacco of choice. They are intended to both soak up moisture and to filter the tar and smoke itself. I’ve read some people say it changes the taste, but I didn’t notice that much of a difference myself, and if I did notice one it was actually a rather pleasant difference.

So, I threw about 4 crystals into the bottom of my Radice and filled up some Nat Sherman 509. For the first time in ages, I was actually able to smoke to the bottom of the damn bowl, since it wasn’t all gooped up and soaken wet. I’m going to stick with the crystals for my next few bowls, and they very well may just become my standard.

Don’t forget to attend this saturday’s pipe club meeting at Allegheny Smokeworks – 10am to noon!

0 Responses to “Denicool crystals”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


