13
Apr
09

Cornell & Diehl Autumn Evening Review

After breakfast today at the Quiet Storm, I stopped by Allegheny Smokeworks and picked up an ounce of Cornell & Diehl’s Autumn Evening to enjoy a smoke on my day off. I headed to the Strip District, grabbed a coffee and sat down to fill a bowl at Leaf & Bean, one of the few pipe friendly joints in town. Opening the bag I was greeted with a strong but not too strong sweet aroma, the maple casing. The tobacco was moist, but lacked the glistening look of the VBC and other sweet aromatics we’ve enjoyed lately. Supposedly C&D uses no humectants in their tobaccos, which is a good thing.

It was my first time using my Milwaukeans 589, and it had been reamed while being restored, so there was no cake to speak of in the pipe. It’s definitely a beauty, but I did have some problems with it today… Two tamping lights and I was on my way, but quickly had to relight again. I was greeted with an excellent smooth maple flavor, very similar to the aroma out of the bag. The smoke was smooth, and no bite was present at all… but then I had to relight again, then soon later again, etc. I’m not sure if it was due to the pipe, my packing, or moisture in the tobacco, but I definitely had some trouble keeping it lit. I have a feeling the freshly reamed pipe was a large part of it.

I did make it through to almost the end, but the tobacco was definitely getting moist and a slight gurgle was present… the first time I’ve had this happen to me… but once again it may have been the pipe. I couldn’t pass a standard pipe cleaner through easily to dry things up; I had to wait for the pipe to cool down for a full cleaning. Anyways, I’m looking forward to another smoke of this stuff, and next try I’m going to throw some Denicool crystals in the bottom to see if it helps out.

Overall, besides the troubling experience which I’d like to attribute to the pipe and my own lack of skill, the tobacco itself was incredibly enjoyable – smooth, cool, no-bite, sweet but not sicky sweet, and smelled great. As long as the Milwaukeans 589 works out, I think it may get dedicated to this C&D aromatic. Autumn Evening plus a cup of black coffee equals a tasty breakfast indeed. Let me know when you guys want to try this stuff out.

2 Responses to “Cornell & Diehl Autumn Evening Review”


  1. 1 Shawn
    April 13, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I just had the revelation that it might be very interesting to hand blend this C&D Autumn Evening with some of the beloved VBC…

  2. 2 Phil
    April 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    This sounds delicious, must give it a try. I was all ready to smoke a pipe by the lake tonight, but a random storm seems to be coming or something.


Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2009
S M T W T F S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


